GooNGooN's Search

Tuesday, October 21, 2008

Fazlul Huque Award to be given Oct 20

Cine journalist Abdur Rahman and filmmaker Golam Rabbani Biplob will be awarded with the Fazlul Huque Smrity Award for their contribution to their respective fields. The Fazlul Huq Smrity Committee introduced the award in 2004. The committee has decided to present the award every year in the two categories, namely, film journalism and best film director. Awards will be handed over to the recipients through a ceremony to be held at the Hotel Sheraton on October 20, said the organisers. The recipients will also receive a certificate and a crest along with Tk 25,000 each as prizes. Fazlul Huque had made tremendous contributions to the field of cinema as well as cine-journalism. He was the editor and publisher of Cinema, a newspaper themed on cinema reporting. The paper was first published from Bogra in 1950 and later shifted to Dhaka at 2 AC Roy Road. The last issue of the paper was published in 1959. He was the pioneer of cine-journalism in Bangladesh, and also its first film maker. His first film, President, was based on a story on children. The film was highly appreciated by all and earned him considerable popularity. In the previous years, the award went to Fazal Shahabuddin and Saidul Anam Tutul in 2004, Ahmed Zaman Chowdhury and Chashi Nazrul Islam in 2005, Rafuquzzaman and Humayun Ahmed in 2006 and Hiren Dey and Soovas Dutt in 2007.
(Weekly Holiday-21.10.2008)

No comments:

Click for details